Snowboard throwdown has all the makings of a big-time event

Tuesday March 12, 2013

WEST DOVER — There was not a cloud in the sky for the Inaugural Carinthia Open Mega Plaza (C.O.M.P.) Snowboard Throwdown, held at Mount Snow’s Carinthia Parks on Saturday.

68 athletes flexed their skills through an elaborate plaza-style terrain park loaded with almost 20 custom built features. Taking top honors in the men’s pro division and going home with the $2,000 first prize was Shaun Murphy; Emma Graham took home a $750 check for top pro female; and the top male amateur was Kyle Wager.

These athletes had to impress a trio of judges that collectively bring decades of experience competing and coaching at the highest levels in the snowboard world. Giving the grades were Winter X Games silver medalist, Jason Evans; USASA series director, and Jason Evans’ long-time coach, Bob Basil and 1998 Nagano Olympian in superpipe, Ron Chiodi.

“Everything about this competition was world-class. The mega plaza our park crew constructed was like nothing I’ve seen before, the judges are some of the most well-respected names in the snowboard community, and every competitor threw down which got the crowd hyped,” said Tim Dolan, event manager at Mount Snow. “We’ve set the bar pretty high in just the first year of the event. I can’t wait for next year.”

The entire competition was jam format and started out with preliminary heats before the field was whittled down to the top few from each category,

which set up for an exciting final in the afternoon with competitors using the entire course to pull tricks that continually riled up the enthusiastic crowd.

Red Bull kicked in $1,000 cash with half of that total handed out on the spot in the form of crisp, $50 bills to riders that threw down the sickest tricks and the other half being split between the best overall male and female trick during the awards ceremony. Amateur winners went home with gear from event sponsors.


Pro Men

First: Shaun Murphy – $2,000

Second: Tim Sullivan – $1,000

Third: Casey Willax – $500

Pro Women

First: Emma Graham – $750

Second: Maggie Leon – $500

Third: Amy Gan – $250

Amateur Men

First: Kyle Wager

Second: Casey Savage

Third: Miles Fallon

Amateur Women

FIrst: Krista Yergeau

Best Trick

Male: Herman Neal – $250

Female: Emma Graham – $250

For the complete list of
results from the C.O.M.P., visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *